California Suspended License Attorney
Attorneys at Beahm Law Are Passionate About Helping Clients
If you were charged with driving on a suspended license, you likely have a lot of questions. Driver's license suspensions can be incredibly complicated and confusing. People frequently are unaware that their driving privileges are currently suspended, and their arrest can come as a shock. These cases can be incredibly complicated and should always be taken seriously.
At Beahm Law, we are well-versed in California vehicle codes, and we have helped countless clients deal with suspended license cases. Our law firm has over one hundred 5-star reviews, and we are known for our commitment to our clients.
To discuss your case with a professional attorney, contact us online or call our firm at (415) 493-8677. We offer free case consultations.
WHAT IS CA VEHICLE CODE 14601.1(A)?
It is illegal to drive a motor vehicle in California when your driving privileges are either suspended or revoked. If you are charged with driving on a suspended license, the prosecution must prove that you did so knowingly. According to Section 14601.1(a), it is presumed that the driver is aware of the suspension if the department of motor vehicles has given mailed notice as outlined by Section 13106.
Section 13106 outlines how the department of motor vehicles must notify a driver of a license suspension. They are required to contact the affected party by first-class mail, and the notice must outline the action being taken (such as a license suspension) and the effective date of the action. Additionally, the notification must be sent to the affected party's most recent address, and it cannot have been returned to the department as undeliverable or unclaimed.
WHAT ARE THE PENALTIES FOR DRIVING WITH A SUSPENDED LICENSE?
A conviction can have a serious impact on your life and may even result in a prison sentence. With so much at stake, it is important that you secure trusted legal representation as soon as possible. Working with a skilled lawyer experienced in defending suspended license offenses in California could make a significant difference in your case.
According to Section 14601.1(a), if you are convicted of driving on a suspended license, you may face the following penalties:
- First offense: county jail sentence up to six months and/or a minimum fine of $300 and not to exceed $1,000
- Second conviction within five years: minimum jail sentence of 5 days but not to exceed one year, and a minimum fine of $500 but not to exceed $2,000
Depending on the circumstances of your case, you may also be required to install an ignition interlock device on your car if convicted.
We Provide Clients with Direct Access to Their Attorney
At Beahm Law, we understand how overwhelming it can be to face charges for driving on a suspended license. The California courts take a notoriously hard line on cases like these and facing the prosecution alone can be incredibly daunting. You do not have to go through this process on your own. When you hire us, our team will be available to you 24/7 throughout your case.
As a firm, we work hard to provide personalized legal representation that speaks to our clients' needs. Our law office utilizes modern technology to facilitate communication and help us strategize more efficiently. Also, in response to our clients' needs, we can handle many matters virtually to save you from coming to the office. When you need a lawyer who will be by your side from start to finish, turn to us.
Beahm Law is known for our aggressive defense strategies and our dedicated advocacy. Schedule an appointment by calling (415) 493-8677 or fill out our online contact form.