Most drunk driving cases begin with a similar story. You decide to have a few drinks, but you don't think you really feel “drunk.” You decide to get behind the wheel, even though a part of you knows that maybe you shouldn't. The next thing you know, you hear the sirens and you're looking for DUI lawyers.
You might feel like you the situation is hopeless. Let me assure you, being arrested for DUI does not have to ruin your life. You just need to take proactive steps to take control of the situation.
In California, drunk driving is a major cause of accidents and arrests. In reaction to the dangers posed by intoxicated drivers, the state has passed laws with potentially serious consequences to those convicted to driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
To be charged with a DUI in California, a person's BAC must be 0.08 percent or more. Commercial vehicle drivers can be charged with DUI if their BAC is 0.04 percent or more. Most California DUIs are charged as misdemeanors. However, the DUI lawyers working at the District Attorney's office can choose to prosecute you with a felony DUI in certain circumstances such as:
- Bodily injury is caused to any other person; or,
- Prior felony DUI on you record; or,
- It is the fourth time the person is being arrested for DUI in a ten year time period.
Legal Information for a California DUI
During the time of a DUI arrest, and following a DUI arrest, it is important that you protect your rights and retain skilled legal counsel. Do not argue with the police and do not needlessly give them evidence against you. Do not agree to any searches. Tell them that #1: You want an attorney and #2: You are invoking your right to remain silent.
After you are arrested, you only have ten days to contact the DMV, and there are many other important steps that must be taken in order to ensure that you are protected. At Beahm Law, our DUI lawyers offer free professional consultations to all first-time callers.
Being arrested for DUI is not a hopeless situation. With skilled counsel, cases can be aggressively fought, and often the charges can be reduced or dropped, and the penalties can be lessened to the absolute minimum.
To receive more information regarding the defense of DUI in California, or to schedule a consultation, call 844-811-5444.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment